NOTE: Sources marked with an * are available only to Appalachian State University students, faculty and staff. Available off campus with authentication (use your name and Banner ID)
Berklee College of Music. Play along tracks and lead sheets from Hal Crook of the Berklee College of Music.
Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL). Over 36,000 free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations and other useful information.
The Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa. Free download of .pdf scores and parts for Sousa marches
Concerto/Aria Competition Resources Some sources to find parts and rental information for Concerto/Aria pieces . . .
Digital Mozart Edition Scores, libretti, and other documents related to the life and works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart by the Stiftung Mozarteum in Salzburg.
*Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities A guide of the faculties and programs in music in the United States and Canada. Who teaches what/where. Also complete listings of degrees and where they are offered.
Dissertations: Library Research Strategies and More: Find dissertations. A guide to ASU resources for searching and finding dissertations.
*The Encyclopedia of Popular Music: “Containing 27,000 entries and over 6,000 new entries, the online edition of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music includes 50% more material than the Third Edition. Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.”
Google Scholar: Google Scholar searches the web and links back to some of the resources (not all) available to ASU students and users. Click here for a video tutorial on using Google Scholar for academic purposes.
*Harvard Dictionary of Music: The primary English-language dictionary for musical terms. Also available in paper in the Reference Books section of the Music Library: ML100 .R3 1986.
Hymnary.org: A Comprehensive Index of Hymns and Hymnals: A free online project by Calvin College. Over one million hymn tunes and texts.
IMSLP: The largest site for public domain music, not that some of this music has been supplanted by more recent and better-researched editions.
The Matt Johnson Music Collection: "My catalog of works has a strong pedagogical value as a 'bridge' between the classical and jazz/popular musical worlds. I’ve merged my pianistic skills (BM-Piano Performance) and compositional interests (MM-Composition/Jazz Studies) into a career focused on promoting my original works through traditional concerts, written scores and current recording avenues."
Mike Barone Free Charts. Jazz charts for big bands, as well as parts for 5 trumpets and 4 trombones.
*Music Index Online: With RILM Abstracts and the International Index to Music Periodicals , one of the three main databases for articles on music. MI Online begins in 1979 and includes over 700 journal titles. There are also links, when available, to full-text journal articles, so you can not only find the citation, but the article itself.
*Musica International: A choral music repertoire database with more than 200,000 titles.
*New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians: (2nd edition) The most authoritative encyclopedia for music in the English language; also available in paper format in the Music Library Ref. ML100 .N48 2000 vols. 1–29.
*Oxford Companion to Music: “Completely revised and updated in 2002 by a distinguished team of contributors, the Companion features more than 1,000 new entries than the previous edition; more than 70 percent of the entire text is either new or entirely rewritten. In articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, is authoritative coverage of virtually every musical subject. Embracing the world of music in all its variety — including jazz, popular music, and dance — the Companion offers a concentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present day.”
*Oxford Dictionary of Music: “An indispensable guide for all music lovers and performers, both amateur and professional, The Oxford Dictionary of Music brings together an unrivalled collection of entries — 12,500 in all — covering musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way. Included in this impressive work are entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics.”
*PsycINFO Especially useful for topics involving Music Therapy; includes full indexing of the Journal of Music Therapy.
*Recent Researches in Music Online: Electronic (.pdf) scores from the large online series. It includes only the most recent titles in Recent Researches in American Music, Recent Researches in the Music of the Baroque Era, Recent Researches in the Music of the Classical Era, Recent Researches in the Music of the Middle Ages and Early Renaissance, Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries, Recent Researches in the Music of the Renaissance, and Recent Researches in the Oral Traditions of Music. Older volumes are available in paper in the Music Library Reference Scores.
*RILM Abstracts of Music Literature: Citations and abstracts of scholarly books, journal articles, dissertations, essays in collections.
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources: A primary-source database containing RISM Series A/II: Music manuscripts after 1600 (note that the other parts of the A Series, as well as the B and C Series are still only available in paper form in the Music Library Reference Section). Over 700,000 references to works of some 25,000 composers.
*Rock’s Backpages: The ultimate archive of music journalism... OVER 24,000 CLASSIC ARTICLES on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop, by the finest music writers of the last 50 years.
Why Use Uniform Titles?: A guide to the most important information that musicians can learn about library catalogs: how and why uniform titles are used. With practice tests . . .
Women Composers Collection: A collection of mostly 19th- and early 20th-century musical scores by women composers held at the University of Michigan Music Library.
*WorldCat: Citations of books, printed music, recordings, videos; ILL of books and printed music.